Creative Discoveries Camps

For who?

Pique-Pique Studio is launching a creative discovery summer camp for children aged 4 to 6 years old who love making art and who are naturally curious about everything around them!  Every day is packed with new art discovery magic... going from exploring new materials and art effects, making creative projects, engaging in collaborative art experiences and nourishing curiosity through whole-brain activities and games. As art is intrinsically linked to nature, we spend a lot of time outside observing, collecting, finding and loving the outdoors. Special guests pop-in during the week to present their own discoveries and collections of curiosities thus inspiring art projects during camp. 

About us

Elyse Robertson (Pique-Pique studio) is a certified teacher in Ontario and teaches art, kindergarten and community pedagogy in schools. She specializes in curating creative contexts and art discovery experiences for young children.  With over 15 years experience in education, she has witnessed the immense value of art as a way to prepare for higher creative thinking and community building. Other team members will be certified Early Childhood Educators as well as a senior councillor. 

Our approach

Pique-Pique is inspired by the Emilia Reggio approach which is guided by children’s natural curiosity through creating spaces and contexts where children can use art as an expression of their development.  The Pique-Pique camp will organize whole-brain activities, far from a sit-down art camp and closer to a creative gym class. Pique-Pique is not really interested in the end-product but rather in everything that happens while doing art. This approach, called process art, values art in its process, and not in the result. Intentions, choice, preference, decisions, affirmation ,changes, trials, experiments, mixing, being proud, collaboration, open-mindedness.

 

A typical day at Pique-Pique camp

  • Extended hours service (7:30 AM to 9 AM) (Changing art discovery prompt tables/centres focused on drawing, sculpting, loose parts, building, crafting, nature + recycl+art)

  • 9 AM Warm-up + Daily inspiration (music, songs, objects)

  • Art discovery workshop

  • 10:30 Snack + Chat

  • Outdoor Activity/Game or Art discovery workshop

  • 11:30 Picnic lunch + Outdoor free play 

  • Wind-down time (Yoga, drawing, story)

  • Art workshop OR Special guest 

  • Snack + chat

  • PAINT TIME - When we make a mess

  • Extended hours service (4 PM - 5 PM) (Outdoor art discovery free play)

*Fridays: Vernissage + exhibit of creative process and work. 

Where ?

The Creative discoveries camp will be held at La petite école de mon quartier, located at 584 Wilfrid-Lavigne Blvd. in Aylmer. The interior space is full of natural light and is equipped with an air conditioning system. An outdoor yard connects to a large public park where many exploration + art discovery activities will be held (and a great place for picnic lunches!) 

 

What parents need to know

  • Highly trained staff (Certified teacher, Early Childhood Educator + senior councillor)

  • CPR trained + Criminal Records clearance

  • All staff has received program/camp training

  • Site responds to strict day care regulations as for security 

  • Max 20 participants / week

  • Responds to recommended camp ratios

  • Vernissage + exhibit event on Fridays for Family + Friends

  • We always stay on site (no field trips)

Price and registration

  • 225$ / week (includes all taxes and materials)

  • 15$ discount for 2nd child

  • 20$ / week for AM or PM Extended hours service

  • 40$ / week for AM and PM Extended hours service

  • Please register before June 5th 2020. 

Information:

info@pique-pique.ca

819 598 5682

Payment

  • e-transfer

  • chèque

  • in person

Tel: 819.598.5682

info@pique-pique.ca

Tel: 819.598.5682

info@pique-pique.ca

Camps de découvertes créatives

Pour qui?

Le studio Pique-Pique lance un camp d’été de découvertes créatives pour les enfants de 4 à 6 ans qui adorent faire de l’art et qui sont naturellement curieux de tout ce qui les entoure! Chaque jour est rempli de découvertes… que ce soit l’exploration de nouveaux matériaux ou d’effets artistiques, des projets créatifs, des expériences collectives en art et des activités et des jeux qui feront pétiller la curiosité des enfants. Comme l’art est lié intrinsèquement à la nature, nous passons beaucoup de temps à l’extérieur à observer, collectionner, dénicher et aimer la nature. Des invités spéciaux viendront nous rendre visite pour présenter leurs propres découvertes ainsi que leurs collections de curiosités qui sauront inspirer des projets d’art pendant le camp.  

 

Qui sont les animateurs?

Élyse Robertson (Studio Pique-Pique) est enseignante agréée de l’Ontario avec de l’expérience d’enseignement au niveau maternelle-jardin,  en art et en pédagogie communautaire dans les écoles. Elle se spécialise dans l'aménagement de contextes créatifs et la mise en place d’expériences de découvertes en art. Avec près de 15 ans d’expérience dans le milieu de l’éducation, elle témoigne de l’immense valeur de l’art comme moyen de préparer le terrain pour la pensée créative et le rassemblement de communautés. Autres personnes dans l’équipe seront un(e) Éducatrice/teur à la petite enfance et un(e) animatrice/teur senior.  

 

Notre approche

Pique-Pique est inspiré par l’approche pédagogique Emilia Reggio qui est guidée par la curiosité naturelle des enfants ainsi que la création d’espaces et de contextes où les enfant peuvent se développer et s’exprimer par l’art. Le camp Pique-Pique organise des activités qui font appel au plein-cerveau, loin d’un camp d’art où les enfants restent assis et plus proche d’un gymnase créatif. Pique-Pique n’est pas intéressé dans le produit final mais plutôt par tout ce qui se passe lorsqu’on fait de l’art. Cette approche, qu’on appelle process art, valorise tout ce qui se passe lorsqu’on fait de l’art. Intentions, choix, préférences, décisions, affirmations, changements, essais, expérimentation, mélanges, fierté, collaboration et ouverture. 

 

Journée type

  • Service de garde (7:30 AM à 9 AM) (Tables/Centres changeants d’incitations créatives en lien avec le dessin, la sculpture, des objets hétéroclites, constructions, bricolages, nature et recycl’art) 

  • 9 AM Échauffement + Inspiration du jour (musique, chants ou comptines, objets)

  • Atelier de découvertes créatives

  • 10:30 Collation et jasette

  • Activité extérieure / Atelier de découverte créative

  • 11:30 Pique-nique + Jeux libre extérieur

  • Relaxation (Yoga, dessin, histoire)

  • Atelier d’art OU Invité spécial 

  • Collation

  • BLOC PEINTURE - (ou tout autre projet salissant!)

  • Service de garde (4 PM à 5 PM) (Activité extérieure/Jeux créatifs libres)

*Vendredi du camp: Vernissage + exposition du processus créatif et réalisations des artistes.

 

Où ?

La semaine d’art se déroula dans les locaux de La petite école de mon quartier, située au 584, boul. Wilfrid-Lavigne à Aylmer. L'espace intérieur abonde de lumière naturelle et est muni d'un système de climatisation. Une cour extérieure donne sur un grand espace vert de la Ville de Gatineau, où plusieurs activités de découvertes et des exercices de création/observation auront lieu. Parfait pour un petit pique-nique lors des journées ensoleillées!

Prix et inscription

  • 225$ / semaine (inclut les taxes et tous les matériaux)

  • Rabais de 15$ pour 2e enfant

  • 20$ / semaine pour service de garde AM ou PM 

  • 40$ / semaine pour service de garde AM et PM

  • SVP inscrire avant le 5 juin 2020. 

Ce que les parents doivent savoir

  • Personnel hautement qualifié (Enseignante agréée, Éducatrice/teur à la petite enfance + animateur/trice senior)

  • Tous formés au RCR + vérification d’antécédents criminels 

  • Tout le personnel a suivi une formation de programme/camp 

  • Le site répond aux normes du Ministère pour la sécurité en garderie

  • Max 20 participants / semaine

  • Répond aux recommandations de rations pour camps 

  • Vernissage + exposition les vendredis pour les amis et la famille 

  • Nous demeurons toujours sur le site (pas de sorties prévues)

 

Information

info@pique-pique.ca

819 598 5682

Paiement: